Azerbaijan’s legal system

Azerbaijan is a former Soviet republic located in the South Caucasus region of Eurasia. It is bordered by Russia to the north, Georgia to the northwest, Armenia to the west, and Iran to the south. The legal system of Azerbaijan is based on civil law, with influences from Soviet legal traditions.

Azerbaijan’s legal system is divided into three branches: legislative, executive, and judicial. The legislative branch is composed of the Milli Majlis (Parliament), which is responsible for enacting the laws of the country. The executive branch is composed of the President and his Cabinet, responsible for enforcing the laws and overseeing the day-to-day operations of the government. The judicial branch is composed of the Supreme Court and lower courts, responsible for interpreting and adjudicating the laws.

The Constitution of Azerbaijan is the supreme law of the land, and it serves as the basis for all other laws in the country. It is divided into seven parts, with the first part containing the fundamental principles and the remaining parts containing specific provisions regarding the rights and freedoms of citizens, the structure and functioning of the government, and other matters.

Azerbaijan’s legal system is also influenced by Sharia (Islamic) law, which is applied in certain cases. Additionally, the country has adopted a number of international laws and treaties, including the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, and the European Convention on Human Rights.