Costa Rica’s legal system

The legal system of Costa Rica is based on the Civil Law system, a system of law derived from Roman law. Costa Rica’s judicial system is composed of the Supreme Court of Justice, Regional Courts of Appeal, and Civil Courts. The Supreme Court is the highest court in the country and is responsible for interpreting and enforcing the Constitution. The Supreme Court is composed of seven judges, and they are appointed by the Legislative Assembly.

The Supreme Court is responsible for the administration of the courts, the appointment of judges and magistrates, and the review of decisions of the lower courts. The Supreme Court also has the power to remove judges from office and to regulate the practice of law in Costa Rica.

The Regional Courts of Appeal are responsible for reviewing the decisions of the lower courts. They are composed of five judges, and their decisions are final.

The Civil Courts are the lowest level of the court system. These courts are responsible for hearing cases involving civil matters, such as property disputes, family law, and contract law.

The Costa Rican Constitution is the supreme law of the country. It is composed of nine chapters, which outline the rights and duties of citizens, the structure of government, and the protection of human rights. The Constitutional Court is responsible for interpreting and enforcing the Constitution.

Costa Rica also has a system of administrative law, which deals with the actions of government departments and agencies. The Administrative Court is responsible for resolving disputes between citizens and the government, and for reviewing the decisions of administrative agencies.

In addition to the court system, Costa Rica has an independent public prosecutor’s office. This office is responsible for prosecuting crimes, and for protecting the rights of citizens.