Ecuador’s legal system

The legal system of Ecuador is based on the civil law system, which is derived from the Spanish legal system. The Constitution of Ecuador is the supreme law of the country, and is composed of a series of fundamental laws, including the Civil Code, the Criminal Code, the Labor Code, and the Commercial Code.

The Ecuadorian judicial system is composed of three branches: the Supreme Court, the Constitutional Court, and the National Court of Justice.

The Supreme Court is the highest court in the land and is the court of last resort. Its primary function is to interpret the Constitution, review the decisions of lower courts, and adjudicate administrative disputes.

The Constitutional Court is a specialized court that is responsible for interpreting the constitution and resolving disputes concerning constitutional law.

The National Court of Justice is the highest court of appeals and is responsible for hearing appeals from lower court decisions.

The lower court system in Ecuador is composed of a hierarchy of civil and criminal courts, as well as other specialized tribunals. The lower courts are divided by jurisdiction and level, with each court having its own particular area of authority.

In addition to the civil and criminal courts, there are also a number of specialized courts and tribunals, including the Supreme Electoral Tribunal, the National Court of Disciplinary Tribunals, and the Supreme Court of Auditors.