Greece’s legal system

Greece is a civil law country with a legal system that is largely based on the Code of Civil Procedure. This code was enacted in 1946 and it is still in effect today. The civil law system is comprised of statutes, judicial decisions, and legal principles.

The Greek legal system is based on the principle of separation of powers and the three branches of government: the legislative branch, the executive branch, and the judicial branch. The legislative branch, which is responsible for creating laws, is made up of the Parliament. The executive branch is responsible for implementing laws and is headed by the President. The judicial branch is responsible for interpreting and applying laws and is made up of the Supreme Court, the Council of State, and the Courts of Appeal.

In addition to the Code of Civil Procedure, other major areas of law in Greece include family law, labor law, tax law, corporate law, banking law, and intellectual property law.

Greece is a member of the European Union and is subject to EU regulations, as well as international treaties and agreements. The Greek court system is divided into four levels: the Court of First Instance, the Court of Appeal, the Court of Cassation, and the Supreme Court. Decisions of the Supreme Court are final.