Iceland’s legal system

The legal system of Iceland is based on the Danish legal system and is comprised of a combination of customary law, civil law, and parliamentary legislation. The Constitution of Iceland, which was adopted in 1944, serves as the highest source of law in the country.

The court system in Iceland is divided into four tiers. The Supreme Court is the highest court in the country and acts as the court of appeals for lower courts. The District Courts are located in each of the country’s nine districts and handle criminal cases as well as civil cases. The District Courts also handle appeals from lower courts. The Lower Courts are located in each municipality and typically handle small civil cases, as well as traffic and family law cases. The Special Courts are located in the capital and handle specific types of cases such as bankruptcy and intellectual property.

The Parliament of Iceland, known as the Althing, is the supreme legislative body in the country. It is composed of 63 members and is responsible for making laws and ratifying international agreements. The Prime Minister and the Cabinet are responsible for the implementation of laws and policy.

Iceland is also a member of the European Economic Area, which allows for the free movement of goods, services, and capital between Iceland and other members of the European Union. Iceland is also a party to the European Convention on Human Rights and other international treaties.