Ireland’s legal system

Ireland has a common law system of law derived from its membership of the United Kingdom and other former British colonies. The Irish legal system is largely based on the English system, but is also influenced by European Union law. The Irish Constitution is the highest law in the country and sets out the rights of citizens and the structure of the government.

The Irish legal system is divided into two distinct parts: criminal law and civil law. Criminal law deals with crimes such as murder, theft, and assault, while civil law deals with disputes between individuals or organisations.

The Irish court system is divided into four levels. The lowest level is the District Court, which deals with minor offences and civil disputes. Above that is the Circuit Court, which deals with more serious criminal offences and civil matters. Above that is the High Court, which is the main court of first instance and deals with serious criminal cases. Finally, the Supreme Court is the highest court in the country and hears appeals from the lower courts.

The Irish legal system is also influenced by the European Union. This is because Ireland is a member of the European Union and is subject to the laws and regulations of the European Union. This includes the Treaty of Rome, the Charter of Fundamental Rights, and the European Convention on Human Rights.

In addition to the courts, there are several other bodies that have a role in the Irish legal system. The Law Reform Commission is an independent organisation that makes proposals for changes in the law. The Attorney General is responsible for providing legal advice to the government and is the government’s chief legal advisor. The Law Society of Ireland is the main professional body for solicitors and barristers in Ireland.