Netherlands’s legal system

The Netherlands legal system is based on civil law and is rooted in the Roman law tradition. The Netherlands is a decentralized state, with the three branches of government—executive, legislative, and judicial—divided between the national, provincial, and municipal levels.

The Netherlands is part of the European Union and is bound by EU law as well as its own domestic laws. The highest court in the Netherlands is the Supreme Court, which is the highest court of appeal and is also the court of cassation. The Supreme Court consists of three chambers: the General Chamber, the Chamber for Social Affairs, and the Chamber for Administrative Jurisdiction.

The Constitution of the Netherlands is the primary source of law, and the laws of the Netherlands are based on the principles of democracy, equality, and the rule of law. The country is divided into 12 provinces, each with its own court system. The lower courts are composed of district, cantonal, and magistrate courts. The highest court of appeal in each province is the court of appeal.

The Netherlands also has a two-tier court system, with the court of first instance and the court of cassation. The courts of first instance and the court of cassation handle civil and criminal matters, respectively. The court of cassation is the final court of appeal and has the power to overrule decisions made by the lower courts.

The Netherlands also has an administrative court system, which is responsible for settling disputes between governmental bodies and private individuals. Administrative law is based on the Administrative Codes, which contain regulations and laws regarding the organization of government and its activities.

The Netherlands has a well-developed legal system and is a strong supporter of the rule of law. In addition, the country is known for its commitment to human rights and its support of international law.