Rwanda’s legal system

The legal system in Rwanda is based on both customary law and statutory law. Customary law, which is largely based on the principles of the Rwandan traditional culture, is highly respected and often used to resolve disputes. The Rwandan Constitution and other statutory laws are based on the principles of democracy, respect for the rule of law, and protection of human rights.

The Rwandan legal system is composed of four distinct branches:

  1. Judicial Branch: This branch is composed of the Supreme Court, Courts of Appeal, and Courts of First Instance.
  2. Executive Branch: This branch is responsible for implementing the laws enacted by the legislature.
  3. Legislative Branch: This branch is composed of two chambers: the Chamber of Deputies and the Senate. The Chamber of Deputies is responsible for passing laws and the Senate is responsible for proposing laws.
  4. Administrative Branch: This branch is responsible for overseeing the implementation of laws and regulations, as well as providing legal advice to the other branches of government.

The Rwandan legal system also recognizes international law and treaties, including the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, and the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights.