Turkey’s legal system

The legal system of Turkey is based on a civil law system. This system is heavily influenced by the country’s history as part of the Ottoman Empire, as well as its membership in the Council of Europe, in addition to other international organizations. Turkish law is divided into five main branches: Civil Law, Criminal Law, Commercial Law, Administrative Law, and International Law.

The Civil Code of Turkey is the basis of the civil law system, which includes laws on marriage, succession, property, and contract law. This is supplemented by the Commercial Code, which covers matters of commercial and business law, including banking, finance, corporate law, and intellectual property.

The Criminal Code of Turkey covers a broad range of offenses, including crimes against property, public order, and public morality, as well as traffic offenses. This code also establishes sentencing guidelines, and is supplemented by the Criminal Procedure Code, which outlines the rights of suspects and defendants, as well as the procedures for criminal trials.

Administrative Law is the branch of law that governs the relationship between the state and the citizens, and regulates the actions of civil servants and other representatives of the state. This branch of law also covers issues such as taxation, social security, and public health.

International Law is the branch of law that governs the relations between states, and is based on the principles of international treaties, agreements, and conventions. This branch of law also covers issues such as the principles of international human rights, the settlement of disputes, and the recognition of foreign governments.

Turkey is also a signatory to several international conventions and treaties, including the Convention on the Rights of the Child, the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, and the Convention against Torture.